Young scientists earn recognition in eurammon Awards 2011

By Sabine Lobnig, Nov 14, 2011, 13:13 1 minute reading

For the fourth time, eurammon presented the Natural Refrigeration Award to three young scientists coming from the USA, Sweden and Germany for their university papers focusing on ammonia and other natural refrigerants. In addition, an Honour Award was launched giving recognition to forward-looking companies.

During its End-Users Day, eurammon announced winners of the fourth edition of the Natural Refrigeration Award. First prize was awarded to Niel Hayes, graduate student of the Washington State University for his thesis paper on “Study of carbon dioxide condensation in brazed plate heat exchangers”.

The second place was given to Behzad Abolhassani Monfared for his dissertation exploring the design and construction of a small ammonia heat pump in the Swedish market. The paper concludes that a small ammonia heat pump with a low charge of the refrigerant is suitable for space heating and tap water heating of single-family houses, especially thanks to its heating capacity and compact design.

Stephen Benz from Germany, who presented his paper on “Experimental studies and simulations for dimensioning a diffusion absorption refrigeration machine with direct solar-thermal drive”, was awarded the third place.

Honour Award presented to end-user

As part of the award ceremony, eurammon granted an Honour Award to La Roche as recognition for its projects in the field of energy-efficient refrigeration and air-conditioning. The company has committed to replace all HFCs in its refrigeration systems with natural refrigerants including ammonia by 2015.

About Natural Refrigeration Award

Launched in 2005, the bi-annual initiative aims to award graduates of universities, polytechnics, colleges or other educational institutions, whose scientific paper has been accredited as a doctoral, master’s, bachelor’s thesis, or final paper for a similar degree in the field of refrigeration technology using natural refrigerants. The submitted papers are evaluated by an international panel of judges comprised of experts from academia, business and media. Every second year, winners are eligible for a €5,000 prize.


By Sabine Lobnig

Nov 14, 2011, 13:13

Related stories

Sign up to our Newsletter

Fill in the details below